Facebook’s ‘Timeline’ Feature Comes to Business Pages

Facebook’s Timeline feature is now available for business pages. The change is optional until March 30, when all pages will make the switch.

Timeline has been rolling out to personal profiles for several months. Where personal pages were “snapshots” of your activity and interests, Timelines are closer to scrapbooks of your entire life. They feature archives of your most important Facebook activity (based on likes and comments) since joining the site, sortable through a year-by-year interface that begins at birth.

It’s important to note that your Timeline is a “smart” feature—that is, it will mine Facebook for things you may have forgotten about. Where a personal user may want to delete school photos or old relationship statuses, businesses should watch for obsolete products, contact information, etc.

Timeline also gives your page a new look, including important changes to photos, default landing tabs, and apps. Click here for a full rundown of Timeline tools and what they might mean for you.

We’ve been investigating Timeline since it was announced, and we'll soon be posting suggestions on how to enhance your converted page. Over the next few weeks, take time to study the rollout, and if you have questions or suggestions, feel free to let us know.

Facebook Timeline: The Clock is Ticking

We recently introduced you to Facebook's Timeline, a revamped profile that mines all content you've uploaded since joining the site and allows you to add significant events in your life from the time you were born. It was initially an optional feature, but Facebook announced on January 24 that it will switch all profiles to Timeline over the next few weeks. Once the change is made, it can't be reversed.

Timeline currently applies only to personal profiles, but we wouldn't be surprised to see it on business pages soon.

Timeline's format worries privacy advocates because it allows access to potentially embarrassing information, like long-forgotten relationship statuses or photos. Non-scientific polls conducted by the security firm Sophos and the Slashgear blog found that 40 to 45 percent of respondents are "worried" by the changes.

When you change to Timeline, Facebook grants you a seven day "grace period" to remove information you don't want friends to see. We'll update you on user reaction when the Timeline rollout is complete.