We recently introduced you to Facebook's Timeline, a revamped profile that mines all content you've uploaded since joining the site and allows you to add significant events in your life from the time you were born. It was initially an optional feature, but Facebook announced on January 24 that it will switch all profiles to Timeline over the next few weeks. Once the change is made, it can't be reversed.
Timeline currently applies only to personal profiles, but we wouldn't be surprised to see it on business pages soon.
Timeline's format worries privacy advocates because it allows access to potentially embarrassing information, like long-forgotten relationship statuses or photos. Non-scientific polls conducted by the security firm Sophos and the Slashgear blog found that 40 to 45 percent of respondents are "worried" by the changes.
When you change to Timeline, Facebook grants you a seven day "grace period" to remove information you don't want friends to see. We'll update you on user reaction when the Timeline rollout is complete.